Lessons from the past year

There are moments, even days, when I feel lost.  Which direction should I go next?  I ask myself, looking for some sort of compass or sign.  I created a list of lessons I’ve learned – and in some cases, re-learned – in the past year.  I hope that this can serve as a reminder of how far I’ve come, to ground me in moments where I may forget.

  •  When in the midst of a major depressive episode, it’s good to pay attention. Stop, or at least pause all other activities and decide how to move forward. Some normal activities may be helpful, others may not.
  • Taking antidepressants can be an effective part of my treatment plan.
  • After a major health crisis, recovery time is essential to well-being.  Don’t over-commit.
  • Not all jobs or volunteer positions are ideal for me, even if the schedule and commute are convenient or the organization shares many of my values. If the shoe no longer fits, don’t force it.
  • Getting advice from several different sources might be more confusing than helpful.
  • Some relationships are worth keeping and fighting for. Others are not.
  • Alone time is essential for my well-being.
  • Creative expression is always key.
  • I have a dynamic inner life that I need to nurture on a regular basis.
  • I don’t need to live in community in order to feel fulfilled or connected.
  • I appreciate creating my own structure.
  • Live music feeds my soul.
  • Dancing is so vital for my healing.
  • There is more than one way to be in my power.
  • It can sometimes be more empowering to leave.
  • My path is my own.
One response to this post.

Leave a Reply

