Celebrating life.

Memorial Day weekend has a new significance for me.  Last year, on May 25, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to live.  While I didn’t technically make an attempt, I wanted to.  Enough to land me in the emergency room and to spend over a week at a psychiatric hospital.  I have been working hard over the past year to gain back my life and self.  I am definitely stronger and more aware.  I am even more determined to live my life on my own terms.

Today, I took time to celebrate life.  First, I went to the river (cue song:  “As I went down to the river to pray…”)

The path to the river

The path to the river

The Rio Grande

The Rio Grande

At the river’s edge, I prayed and expressed gratitude for my life.

Milkshake!

Milkshake!

Then I went to a local diner and had a milkshake with my lunch.  I savored the taste of the chocolate, sip by sip.

I am still working on healing trauma from that time in my life.  And I also know how far I have come.  I’ve climbed a long way up since hitting rock bottom.  That certainly warrants celebration.

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] Last year during this time, I felt the anniversary energy so strongly: it had been a year since I admitted myself to the hospital for having suicidal ideations. I celebrated life and the choices I made to get to that point. This week, which marked two years since that time, I don’t feel as heavy. Those memories are certainly still painful, and they also have less pressure behind them. As time goes by, I gain more perspective. I continue to feel more at home in myself. I feel grateful, so grateful for my life. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

