Three of my favorite TED Talks

I wanted to share several of my favorite TED talks, ones that have really resonated with me and made me exclaim, “Yes!  It’s like that!” and share with friends and family.

Brené Brown: The Power of Vulnerability.

From her talk:  “This is what I have found: to let ourselves be seen, deeply seen, vulnerably seen; to love with our whole hearts, even though there’s no guarantee — and that’s really hard, and I can tell you as a parent, that’s excruciatingly difficult — to practice gratitude and joy in those moments of terror, when we’re wondering, ‘Can I love you this much? Can I believe in this this passionately? Can I be this fierce about this?’  just to be able to stop and, instead of catastrophizing what might happen, to say, ‘I’m just so grateful, because to feel this vulnerable means I’m alive.'”  – Brené Brown.

Brené Brown studies vulnerability, shame, and perfectionism.  I love how she tells stories, her own story and piece of the stories of people she engages with as part of her research.  I love how she’s willing to do her own personal work when she discovers that she’s not being as whole-hearted or vulnerable as she’d like.  I have read all of Brené Brown’s books.  I even won a giveaway on her blog once and have a signed card.  I could gush about her for quite awhile.  However, if you haven’t yet, and maybe even if you have, watch her TED talk.  It’s a great introduction to her work and the power and strength of vulnerability.

Glennon Doyle Melton, Lessons from the Mental Hospital

From her talk:  “But what I learned during that time is that sitting with the pain and the joy of being a human being, while refusing to run for any exits is the only way to become a real human being. And so these days I’m not a superhero and I’m not a perfect human being. But I am a fully human being. And I am proud of that.”  – Glennon Doyle Melton

I’ve shared several links on her from Glennon’s blog, Momastery.  I appreciate her honesty, her vulnerability, and her willingness to show up for herself and others.  I love her commitment to serve people with her whole self and heart – she seems to express who she is, imperfections and challenges and all, and lead from there.

Susan Cain: The Power of Introverts

And what I’m saying is that culturally, we need a much better balance. We need more of a yin and yang between these two types [introverts and extroverts). This is especially important when it comes to creativity and to productivity, because when psychologists look at the lives of the most creative people, what they find are people who are very good at exchanging ideas and advancing ideas, but who also have a serious streak of introversion in them.”  – Susan Cain

I discovered Susan Cain through her book Quiet:  The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking.  In her book and TED talk, she boldly challenges common myths and beliefs about introverts, and advocates for a new greater understanding.  As an introvert, I really identify with what she has to say.

What TED talks or other speeches have inspired you?

Leave a Reply

