How far I’ve come.

 It’s been over a year since I returned to my hometown for healing and rejuvenation.  It’s still somewhat easy for me to grieve over what I lost or to dwell on what I lack or am not doing now.  I want to take this opportunity to recognize how far I’ve come.

Since last July:

I have established a regular Nia practice, going to classes 3 times a week.  I signed up for a White Belt training and will spend a week immersed in this movement form that I love.

I have been doing a Dialectical Behavioral Therapy (DBT) program.  I have a wonderful therapist and I enjoy my group classes.

I have been taking antidepressants regularly, and along with therapy, my moods and outlook have improved dramatically.

I have been hiking roughly once a week.

I have spent more time with my dad.

I have reconnected with old friends and made new ones.

I have started to see an occupational therapist and am working on sensory integration exercises.  I am working validating my experiences, emotions, and reactions. This part of who I am and how my brain works, and it has been with me my entire life.

I learned more wire wrapping techniques.

I started a jewelry and art business.

I opened an Etsy store.

I participated in two craft fairs.

I have deepened my relationship with my love, and spent quality time with him.

I have deepened my relationship with myself.

I have re-committed to living.

I have committed to living my life on my own terms and finding what works for me.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by brightonbipolar on July 11, 2015 at 7:24 am

    Well done! You’re going great x

    Reply

  2. These are very rich accomplishments and makes me think about what I want to accomplish for myself in the coming year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

