My surgery story, part 1.

There are some events in life that shake us up and have the potential to change our lives.  This is one of mine.  I’ve referenced my surgery before – this is the beginning of that story.

August 2013:

She said something about thinking I was pregnant, and I recoiled. “No, that’s not possible,” I said. “Then it’s some kind of growth,”  she said.  “Your entire body is tensing around your pelvic area.”
I had gone to a body worker – a craniosacral and visceral massage therapist – for pain in my lower back. This was not what I expected. She did not charge me for this session, but recommended that I go see a doctor immediately.  I was so scared.

The pain went away, for the most part.  The growth didn’t.

I remember touching my abdomen on the right side afterward.  I could sense a slight swelling, and beyond that, there was a small mass, spongy in places, hard in others.  How long had I missed it?  It didn’t feel natural.  I had experienced occasional spasms of pain in that area for months. I explained them away as energetic – I’m quite somatic, so I interpreted the pain as my emotional and spiritual process expressing itself in a physical way.

I vacillated that weekend on making a doctor’s appointment.  I grew up primarily around alternative medicine.  I hadn’t had the greatest experiences with doctors in the past.  But still, I made the appointment.  The next few months, I had an appointment about once a month:  primary care appointment, X-rays; referral to ultrasound; referral to one OB-GYN surgeon, and then another.  Diagnosis-wise, it went from “Some sort of abdominal mass” to “complex ovarian cyst.”  I was definitely going to need surgery.  In October, the doctor told me I could have laparoscopic surgery, which is done with small incisions and a camera, and has a short recovery time.  I was put on a waiting list.

November 2013:

My future surgeon prodded my abdomen.  “It’s on the right side,” I said as she prodded my left.  She glanced at me.  “It grew.” She did an external ultrasound, which confirmed that the mass had grown significantly.  She told me that it was either borderline or cancerous.  Laparoscopic surgery was out of the question – it was too large by that point.  I would need to have open abdominal surgery, and soon.

…to be continued.

5 responses to this post.

  1. […] For the first part of this story, go here. […]

    Reply

  2. […] my full surgery story, go here for Part I and here for Part […]

    Reply

  3. […] read my full surgery story, go here and here. Scene:  April 6, 2016, Doctor’s Office at a Hospital in Albuquerque, New […]

    Reply

  4. […] getting major surgery in 2013, I felt this deep sense of loss. It wasn’t only that I had lost literal parts of my body […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

