New sensory accessory!

My newest sensory toy/accessory:  A felt cuff bracelet. The inside is incredibly soft.

felt bracelt on hand

I bought it from one of my crafty Nia White Belt classmates. I had initially selected one that was very unique with extra yarn and beads on it. However, after a few minutes, it started bothering me. It was challenging to think of anything else. Sometimes I think that my tactile defensiveness in terms of clothing texture has decreased significantly…and perhaps it has since childhood. But then something feels scratchy. Or I’m in a fitting room and everything starts to feel weird after enough time trying things on. In these cases, I remind myself that it’s definitely still a consideration in my day-to-day life.

So I chose this one.

From this angle, you can see the soft fleece-like fuzziness.

From this angle, you can see the soft blue fleece-like fuzziness.

When I put it on my wrist, I immediately feel a little calmer. It’s definitely comforting. It’s also fun to pet.

When I was talking to my Occupational Therapist last week about my new toy, I also mentioned that I enjoy going into fabric stores and touching the soft fabrics. She said, “I see how happy you look talking about it. Maybe you can go to a fabric store and buy samples of the fabrics you like and carry those around with you, too?” So, next sensory-related project: get fabric scraps.

In the meantime, I’ll keep petting my new bracelet.

Leave a Reply

