Relationship values

I have been thinking about what I value in friendships and relationships in general (e.g. the people I want in my inner circle).  Here’s what I came up with:

I am looking for and value people who:

  • Respect me.  Respect my opinion even if we disagree.  Are willing to see where I’m coming from.  Listen to me.
  • Keep in touch with me.  I appreciate when reaching out happens on both sides.
  • Have a sense of humor.  Appreciate mine.  Laugh.
  • Are willing to have deep conversations.
  • Are willing to grow.  Are working on their own healing work.  Are willing to acknowledge mine.
  • See my experiences as valid.
  • Are content with quiet moments.  Sometimes the best connections come from the spaces between words.
  • Are curious about what I’m doing.
  • Accept me for who I am.  Love me for it.
  • Are empathetic.
  • Communicate.  Are honest.
  • See and treat me as a peer.
  • Play.  Create.  Dream.  Imagine.

I’m sure there’s more I could add.  What do you value in your relationships?

5 responses to this post.

  1. Keep in touch with me. I appreciate when reaching out happens on both sides.

    I think this is my number one value. I hate that so many of my “friendships” are with people who would never contact me if I didn’t contact them first. I’m so tired of begging people to make plans and having them blow me off over and over.

    Reply

  2. Posted by mymindspilledout on August 30, 2015 at 11:36 am

    I really value the person that doesn’t gossip about others, because if they do that to others, they will do it to you

    Reply

  3. Reblogged this on Marci, Mental Health, & More and commented:
    Suspend judgement, reach out to me, reassure me, love me.

    Reply

  4. Reblogged this on Borderline & PMDD.

    Reply

  5. A very valid legitimate list. I agree to it completely!
    Thank you for visiting my blog and for the Follow. A Follow following up 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

