Vision odds and ends

My OT lent me her weighted blanket for a few weeks so I’m lying here with it draped over me.

I found out at a vision test last week that I have poor binocular coordination, which basically means my eyes don’t work well together. My occupational therapist referred me to that appointment because of how I described my experience of driving at night; and then my response to her having me follow an object with my eyes – first I stepped back, and the second time I got dizzy and had to lie down.

So I’m looking at the possibility of vision therapy. Vision therapy isn’t covered by insurance because for some reason, vision issues aren’t considered medical conditions, so it’s expensive and time-intensive and…

might be worth it.  So I have a more specific vision test on Tuesday to figure out exactly how my eyes do and do not work together, and then my OT is willing to show me some of the exercises to give me an idea of what it’s like.  Her business partner is a developmental optometrist so they work in collaboration with this type of thing.

My OT says that people with sensory processing issues may develop vision coordination issues because, in developmental stages (think baby and small child), it’s difficult to process certain sensory information with precision.  The brain adjusts, the eyes adjust, one eye becomes dominant, etc.  And this could greatly affect how I process all visual information – from words on a page to people in a crowd. That, in turn, affects the other senses as well.

The optometrist presented me with an analogy:  “When you stand on one leg with eyes open, it’s easier to balance.  When you close your eyes, you often lose your balance. Having poor binocular coordination is like having your eyes closed all the time.”
“But I do yoga and dance – I have decent balance,” I protested.  “Yes,” she said.  “But you have to work much harder at it.”

My OT asked me the question today of what if we could remove of the senses from the sensory processing difficulty equation, or at least improve it enough to make life significantly easier.  If I could possibly feel less fatigued, be able to drive at night more easily, etc…  Apparently my brain has been working harder than I ever knew.  I never knew because it’s been normal for me. I also suspect if I don’t address these vision issues, they might get more challenging as I get older.  I’ll take the next steps and weigh my options.

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] Vision Odds and Ends:                 https://closertohappiness.wordpress.com/2015/10/02/vision-odds-and-ends/ […]

    Reply

  2. […] here for more background on my vision […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

