Taking a moment for gratitude

In the midst of transitions, it’s sometimes challenging to have perspective. It’s easy for me to get bogged down with thoughts of how hard it’s been and how I will continue to manage.  For all the challenges that sensory processing issues have brought me throughout my life, there are many ways in which I feel fortunate. I need to take a moment to reflect on and acknowledge those.

I am grateful that…

I have sensitive parents who recognized that I was a sensitive child and advocated for me when I got overwhelmed.

I went to a small high school where I got individualized attention.  The teachers may not have known exactly what was going on, but they generally were patient with me.

I have been able to take quality time off at certain points when I got burnt out.

I am continually learning how to honor the different parts of my sensitivities more.

My intelligence has helped me compensate for some of my limitations and challenges.

I have found an online community of people who have had similar experiences.

I have friends and family who love and appreciate me for who I am.

Dance and movement have helped me improve my coordination and body awareness.

I’ve seen improvement in my responses to tactile stimulation.

I have new tools for self-regulation.

I now understand and validate what’s happening when I get overstimulated.

I respect my boundaries and limits more.

I have new illuminating insights and knowledge about myself.

I have wonderful therapeutic support to help get me through this time of discovery and transition.

I’m learning how to take care of myself better than ever before.

I am learning how to advocate for myself.

I am sharing my own experiences.

One response to this post.

  1. This is beautiful, both because you are so self-aware and competent, and because it also inspires me to be grateful even in the midst of difficulties.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

