Moments from the weekend.

Lately, I seem to be in the mood for capturing small moments rather than writing full cohesive posts.

Moments from Sunday:

The man – a shamanic healer from the Huichol (Wixáritari) people of Mexico –   says that in his tribe, people can’t be chosen as elders until they’re at least 70.

I think of the group I was part of, where the term “elder” meant holding a staff or regular volunteer role or graduating from the program.  So there were “elders” in their 20s.
In my day-to-day life, I see the word tribe used to indicate “community” “group of people with common interests,” or family (whether by birth or by choice).
When he says tribe, I sense the feeling of lineage, what it means to have a people connected by history, lore, tradition, and identity.  He comes as an emissary of his culture, to share and to heal.

I get a beaded bracelet, and ask him about the meaning.  He says that the themes of the colors and symbols are innocence, healing, learning, and new beginnings.  No matter what has happened in my life, I am still innocent at heart and am always beginning again.

At the craft show, other vendors come and exclaim over my art, telling me I’m very talented.

I trade two greeting cards for a small sterling silver pin with the impression of a fennel plant.  It’s sweet.  I put the pin on and feel the texture with my fingers every so often.  It’s soothing.

I listen to a man talk about horny toads (also known as horned lizards) and how he represents an artist who makes horny toad jewelry. He tells me he’s glad he could make me smile.  I thank him when he calls me beautiful.

After a full weekend, I experience sensory overload and spend quality time with my weighted blanket.   I remind myself that this isn’t about cost, that this isn’t good or bad.  It just is.

Saturday:

At a concert, a woman in the band sings Joni Mitchell’s River, and her voice sends chills through me.  Her voice is pure and beautiful, with a bright vivid quality.

Huge wet snowflakes fall from the sky, covering the ground in seconds.

Leave a Reply

