Friday link roundup 12/18

Buzzfeed held their own mental health awareness week.  NAMI selected their favorite articles from the week.  I also appreciated this piece on what it can be like to have both anxiety and depression.

As part of my sensory processing disorder, I struggle with vestibular issues.  This article does an excellent job at explaining the vestibular system, how it works, and exercises aimed to help with balance and coordination.

Trigger warning:  rape.  This article’s story unfolds in a well-written and unexpected way:  An Unbelievable Story of Rape.  My dad recommended that I not read it at night because of the content and how gripping it is, and I’m glad I took his advice.

On lack of affordable housing in Utah, despite their rehousing programs.  This article brings this national issue to light from a local lens.

Admittedly, I have had times where I’ve walked quickly past panhandlers without making eye contact, and felt ashamed for it afterwards.  I think this article has some great suggestions:  3 Ways to Responsibly and Compassionately Respond to Panhandling.

Lessons from Harry Potter in working towards social justice.  It’s more than just magic. 

“I am writing to you because it has gotten just that bad. I have found myself telling too many people about the advice given to me years ago by the late composer Herbert Brun, a German Jewish man who fled Germany at the age of fifteen: ‘Be sure that your passport is in order.'”  A Letter from a Muslim American to Non-Muslim Allies

Huffington Post highlights important writing from people of color from 2015.

Leave a Reply

