Time and Frame of Reference

It’s strange to think that after tomorrow I will no longer refer to the events of 2014 as “last year.” The phrase implies a certain amount of intimacy, of closeness.

Saying “In 2014” or “two years ago” sounds like I’ve wedged more time between now and being in crisis, in the hospital, leaving an entire community.  I realize that I’ve put a lot of weight on how that period has defined me – it certainly required a lot of self-examination, a series of choices and transitions.  It has continued to require a growing sense of acceptance.

I am looking forward to the day when I am less haunted by those experiences.  I also know I can’t rush it.  I certainly feel less haunted than I did last year.

I am not sure if I totally buy the saying that time heals all wounds. Time may act as a type of a buffer and create more distance, more perspective.  In the end, it’s the healing work I do that matters most, no matter how much time has passed.  I am creating space for myself, now.
Leave a Reply

