Love letter: Feet

feet

Dear Feet,

I spent years being frustrated with your collapsing arches and tendency to turn in pigeon-toed.  I concentrated on fixing you more than treating you with respect for how you carry my weight, how you connect with the ground, how you are such great instruments for movement.  You are such a great support for me.

I love that we’re closer now, especially as we’ve explored Nia together and learned to dance in new ways.  We’ve experimented with balance, learning how to lead with the heel, stepping with the whole foot, stretching out into the ball of the foot.  I am grateful for all your bones and muscles and how each has a purpose and its own strength.

I appreciate the calluses you’ve grown to protect me.  I love when I can take shoes and socks off and allow us to be and feel free.  I love the feel of dirt on your soles – it helps me feel more centered and connected with the earth.

Thank you for each step you take, for your strength and stability.  Thank you for being with me as I’ve lost balance, fallen, and gotten up again.

With love,

Me.

Feet is the prompt from Day #3 of April Love 2016.  For more information, go here.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I dropped a cabinet door on my toe yesterday and I am not feeling much love for my foot right now. (Even though it was MY fault and not my foot’s fault.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

