What I’m taking away. 

This past Saturday, I had an experience that resulted in sensory overload and shutting down. It was definitely one of those “if I knew what I know now, I would have chosen differently” situations.

But what I realized: That experience was painful and illuminating. Not all situations, approaches, or methods work for me. I learn from each experience I have, no matter what the outcome. Dwelling on them doesn’t change the fact that they happened.

So, gathered from personal experience and advice from others, the following is a reminder for me to keep at hand.  It may be useful whenever I wish something turned out differently, feel discouraged, or find myself ruminating about the past.  I also think it’s a great tool for taking stock and looking at the value of my experiences in a more objective light.

To take away from experiences:

  • Note and take what worked for me.
  • Note what didn’t work.  Take whatever lessons I need as reference points, and leave the rest behind.
  • Check with wise mind. Use the knowledge I’ve gained to make informed decisions. Give myself time when I need it. Move forward.
  • Stay checked-in and present with self.
One response to this post.

  1. You are so wise. Instead of dwelling on how painful the experience was (and I’m sorry you had such a bad experience), you are able to step back and observe yourself and what is happening. You take it as a lesson, rather than beating yourself up over it. This is exactly what we all are working towards. Good for you, and thanks for the excellent reminder of what a healthy response to a bad situation looks like.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

