Friday link roundup 5/13

togetherrisingquote

 

“You need to let timing do what it needs to do. You need to see lessons where you see barriers. You need to understand that what’s right now becomes inspiration later.”  – From To Anyone Who Thinks They’re Falling Behind in Life.

A store in Manchester, England is starting a quiet hour initiative, in which they create a quiet shopping environment one hour a week for anyone who may need it. With my sensory issues, I’d definitely appreciate if a store did this. Although my first question would be: could you please dim the fluorescent lights?

Please, Please Clean Your Room – a dose of parenting humor from the New Yorker.

On being genderqueer and pregnant.

Diversify your reading list:  A list of LGBTQ books that have protagonists who are people of color.

“People make spreadsheets to assess their financial situation, but it’s not often that people do the same to take a hard look at the inner-workings of their personal or social lives.” Since I need time and space to restore my energy,  I’ve been budgeting my emotional energy for years (no spreadsheets for me – mainly mental check-ins to see if I have energy and desire to do certain activities, depending on the activity and how much I’ve done that week). It’s nice to see a post about the importance of it. 

It’s Friday the 13th! On the psychology of superstition.

One response to this post.

  1. Love that quote, just beautiful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

