Vision therapy update, Week 16

I remember an experience I had in my 3-D design class my sophomore year of college. An alum, an architect, came as a guest for a day and showed us a method for sketching small blocks (as if they were part of a model). I remember sitting there for a long time trying to connect the lines to create the image of stacked blocks. I ended up asking a friend to help me; she could see the connections.

I was convinced it was just something my brain couldn’t do.

I have joked for years that I can’t even draw a straight line with a ruler.

“It’s not how you think,” the optometrist told me at my last binocular vision exam. “It’s how you see.”

I am now over 16 weeks into my 35 week vision therapy program.
Recent exercises:

The Brock string is the most widely known tool in vision therapy. A string, which can be attached to the door, with several brightly colored beads. The first exercise: Hold the string to the bridge of your nose with beads spaced out. Concentrating on one bead at a time, look for the x (when focusing on one point with another thing in sight, the second thing naturally doubles. There is such thing as normal double vision).

I trace mazes just using my eyes, then trace the path I found with my finger.

Sometimes, I do an exercise, struggle, and feel frustrated. It’s like my eyes won’t cooperate. And then I repeat the exercise on another day, and then another, and it gets easier. In my weekly appointments, I demonstrate the past week’s exercises. I show improvement.

I have fewer moments where it seems like my vision is shifting and adjusting. I am still quite aware of when it seems like I am estimating distances instead of perceiving them.

I am more conscious of how I read, which resembles speed reading but I now know that it’s more like quickly scanning and taking in most of the information. My reading comprehension is high, and I also miss small details. One of my regular exercises requires reading with multiple lenses (wearing colored glasses, switching from near to far lenses) and I find that it requires me to slow down. I notice more when I skip ahead a few words and bring myself back.

Changes:

Recently, I was driving at night and noticed that the lights seemed a little less bright. The headlights and cars and streetlights were still a lot to take in, but it was as if the light beams took up less space. Overall, I felt more relaxed.

I’ve noticed my feet aren’t falling asleep as often. To me, indicates that I’m sitting on them less. I attribute this to increased body awareness – I notice more when something feels uncomfortable and shift my position. Also, I rarely sit in a “W” position with legs splayed out behind me anymore, and I recently heard that some sensory kids do that to compensate for vestibular issues. So, maybe it also has something to do with feeling more balanced. This may be due to a combination of factors – my vision therapy also includes exercises that affect my vestibular system; how the listening program affects my senses; and/or how my Nia practice continues to bring me more into my body.

Overall, I feel more grounded, and more connected to myself.

Leave a Reply

