Hold onto my gravity

I originally imagined this as a song when I wrote it almost exactly two years ago, in June 2014. I can almost remember a melody in my head.

I’ve been chasing
myself around
hitting the ground
falling hard

I’m seeing shadows everywhere
All I can do sometimes
is ask you to

Hold onto my gravity
I need you to
I want you to
Hold onto my gravity
I can’t right now
so please, please stay

Sometimes I want to
lose this fight
Pretend it’s right
Pry my fingers off this ledge
Holding on takes effort, too

So hold me tight and

Hold onto my gravity
I need you to
I want you to
Hold onto my gravity
I’m trying to
But it’s so hard to do

I’ve been dreaming of other lands
like motion picture photographs
grasses high and sun above
Dancing and painting and singing and
full of love

I hold onto my gravity
my own way
It doesn’t have a map
If I let go
I may fall down
and get up again
sometimes the broken
is in the whole

I hold onto my gravity
I need me to
I want me to
So please, see I’m holding on…

3 responses to this post.

  1. This. Is. Simply. Beautiful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

