I want to tell you

I want to tell you, someday
How I lost pieces of myself on the operating table
It was literal but it spread deeper

I want to tell you
I am still discovering
How to get up, be awake, be aware

The desire for living returns
even when I believed I lost it.

I want to tell you, someday
the grains of truth behind the screen
this isn’t about proof of what I can handle,
but something complex and in-between

I am at times lackluster, brokenhearted,
diminished.

I am still here.

– 2014

Leave a Reply

