Book review: Love Warrior

“I stop asking for advice and pretending I don’t know what to do. I do know what to do, just never more than one moment at a time. I stop explaining myself, because I learn that making decisions is never about doing the right thing or the wrong thing. It’s about doing the precise thing. The precise thing is always incredibly personal and often makes no sense to anyone else……And when I need to work anything out, I turn to the blank page. There, no one can steal my pain or try to poison my knowing, and there I always have the final word in my own story.” – Glennon Doyle Melton, from her book Love Warrior.

I just finished Love Warrior by Glennon Doyle Melton. I almost wish I wasn’t done with it – the words and the story are still lingering with me. I wanted to share my thoughts/review on it.

Glennon’s words flow. She writes in a beautiful, honest way that invited me into her world. I read this book quickly.

And saying that, this isn’t an easy book to read. Nor is it meant to be. It is above everything else, a memoir, the story of how a woman recovered herself, her relationship to her body, her relationship to her spirit. Yes, it is also the story of her marriage, and I see it as being more about self-love, and how self-love can open someone to opening to and loving another.

There are parts that feel heavy and painful, where I found it hard to read without holding my breath. Glennon talks about her struggles with depression, with alcoholism, with bulimia, and the pain of discovering her marriage was not what she thought it was. Glennon describes her book as “brutiful,” and I’d agree with that. It’s beautiful and it’s brutal. And that’s what makes it vivid and real. She is pulling away the curtain and telling her story, her truth, and in a more revealing way that she does even in her honest and intimate blog, Momastery.

In her blog, Glennon sometimes comes across as a teacher, sharing her experiences and then giving inspiration and messages to others. In Love Warrior, she is more of a raw and vulnerable storyteller who has experienced a lot of personal growth. She talks about what she learned, her inspirations, what they meant to her. As a reader, I can pick and choose what to take in, what might help me in my own life, but she does not offer her story as  advice for another, a do this, or don’t do this. It is more of a “this is what I did, and this is what I learned, and this is who I am becoming.” Glennon does so much to help others, through her blog and her work with Together Rising. In this book, she strips down the layers and reveals herself even more. I hope that her speaking out about her experiences will continue to give others courage to do the same.

I saw a few reviews on Amazon that describe Love Warrior as having too much information or being too voyeuristic.  I think that’s a matter of opinion. It is incredibly intimate, and in some ways it is like getting to see what it’s like to live as Glennon and how she perceives her life and its events from the inside out. I could see how that could seem like too much…and I also think that reading about her personal and internal experiences gave me more to relate to.

I find Love Warrior to be brutal, intimate, beautiful, emotional, and revealing. It’s an exquisitely written book about a woman coming into herself. You can find more about Glennon Doyle Melton here and purchase it on Amazon here. I’m going to hear and see Glennon speak next week, so perhaps I’ll write more then.

Leave a Reply

