A night of inspiration.

One day, Glennon Doyle Melton told her husband that she knew what she was meant to be: a truth teller. He paused and said, “Damn. Don’t you have any other marketable skills?”

When Glennon Doyle Melton started speaking at the First Presbyterian Church in Albuquerque on Friday, she began with stories with anecdotes that made the audience laugh. And perhaps her anxiety may have contributed to her zany openness, and perhaps that is how and who she is: Storyteller. Truth teller. Someone who adds humor, vulnerability, and emotional range and depth to what she shares.

I admire her generosity and her uncensoredness. Personally, she inspires me to be real, genuine; to have faith that I grow and create myself; to have my own path of living and healing; choose where and when to be vulnerable.
Sometimes it’s about voicing deep thoughts
or helping others in heartbreaking situations
or about shaking on the bathroom floor, and deciding to live
and redefining myself again and again and again until I come to the truest place
which sometimes involves more unbecoming than becoming
and throwing out the messages about perfection and hiding emotions
and deciding to allow human-ness through
and creating spaces to share where I can tell give the real answer to the question and not the one I’m supposed to say.

As I drive away that night

I’m so grateful for this night of laughter and depth and vulnerability
that inspires me to think:
I feel lucky to be me.

Other notes from the evening, so I can remember what she shared:

Self-betrayal is when you hear that voice of knowing – that still small voice – and do not do what it says.

“We should not be afraid of our pain, we should be afraid of our easy buttons.”

“We stop caring what we want because were are working hard to be wanted.”
Unbecome the things you thought you were to become a truer version of yourself

“When you ask a woman who she is, she often answers with
who she loves and who she serves.”
Crisis comes from a word meaning “to sift.”
Through rock bottom, we find what is left over when all else falls through.

It’s not the pain that takes us out. It’s the shame about the pain takes us out of the game.

“I decided to write like someone who has never heard of shame and believes she is forgiven.”
Leave a Reply

