Yoga and the Down Dog app

I first found out about the Down Dog yoga app through Terre Pruitt, Nia and yoga teacher, on her blog. Now, I want to give my own personal recommendation for it.

First, I want to share about my yoga background:

I am the daughter of a yoga teacher. My dad has studied yoga since college (1970s), and when I was six months old, we moved to the Bay Area so he could study and get certified to be an Iyengar Yoga teacher. There are pictures of me as a toddler where it looks like I am holding my dad in a shoulder stand. I say “looks like” because, as my dad tells me, he had to put extra effort to staying up in the pose because I was pushing slightly.

yoga-baby

It’s a photo of a photo, but enough to give you an idea.

Since my dad was a yoga teacher, I was resistant to the practice for awhile, unless something hurt and a yoga pose could help it. I took my first yoga class in college and loved it, and sometimes did sun salutations in the early mornings in a study room in my dorm. When I was 26, when I realized that I needed to do something regularly for stress relief. The first week, I got up early each morning and did 15 minutes of yoga, and after a few days, I noticed my anxiety levels had decreased significantly. So I started practicing yoga regularly in the mornings. I took a class about once a week, and took more as I found more yoga teachers and studios I liked.

I continued this pattern until I came back to my hometown, where I dropped my early morning practice. Why? I was depressed, it was hard to get up in the morning, and I didn’t know how much it was helping in my current state. I did get back into the habit of taking classes 2-3 times a week for awhile. Then, Nia took center stage in my movement routine: I liked yoga and its affect on me, but I loved Nia. I went down to taking one yoga class a week, and then when that series of classes ended, I stopped. I missed my regular practice, though.

I learned about the Down Dog app just over a month before my wedding. I wanted to do something in the 30-day lead up to my wedding, and I knew I wanted yoga to be part of it. Also, I knew that it would help my stress level amidst all the busyness. Finding the app was a great solution.

What I like about it:

  1. It allows me to practice yoga without having to create my own practice, and it provides a different sequence every time.
  2. I can choose both the amount of time and type of practice – whether restorative, beginner, intermediate, or advanced.
  3. I sometimes lose patience with yoga videos. I like how the Down Dog app shows photographs of someone doing poses, so I can look at the screen at need, but I’m not dependent on concentrating on the screen in order to see what the instructor is doing.
  4. ย The instructor gives great cues and her voice is soothing.
  5. It’s convenient – I can decide to do yoga any time as long as I have my iPad or iPhone and a place to practice. Also, the basic version is free and the member’s version is inexpensive.

The week before my wedding, I did a trial of Down Dog’s membership. The paid membership adds more choices: the ability to choose the pace of a practice as well as an expanded selection of music playlists. I generally prefer practicing yoga to silence or soft music, so this mattered to me less. While I enjoy more active practices, I prefer to do them more slowly than the normal pace setting, so controlling the pace was a great perk. Ultimately, I chose to become a member.

Now, with the help of the Down Dog app, I’m back to practicing regularly. I’m hoping that yoga will continue to be part of my routine as I settle into my new home and city. Perhaps at some point, I will look for another class to take;ย  in the meantime, I’m content with doing yoga at home.

The app’s website.

More about the team behind Down Dog.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Yoga is the supreme art of well being..but not many understand that !.
    Glad you do ๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘

    Reply

  2. Yay! I am so glad that you enjoyed something I shared. I learned about it from another blog . . . I don’t remember. I really like the app too, but I am sad to say that I don’t think I have done it since that post. Life gets busy . . .and I know that is exactly when I should be doing it. Thank you for sharing your experience as a member!

    I really love Adrienne’s tone and verbiage.

    I should go do some yoga now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

