A post-election post.

I’ve been limiting my time on Facebook this week, which I started on Monday. I didn’t want a play-by-play commentary on returns, I was tired of people jumping on each other for both minor and major differences in belief. After the results came in, it was challenging for me to read because I was dismayed and disappointed at the results and it was heartbreaking to read about people’s reactions.

I continue to limit my time on Facebook. Throughout this election cycle and before, I’ve watched other people use it as a platform to state and share their political beliefs. I haven’t much – I prefer to keep my profile more personal, although the political and personal can overlap. Sometimes I am afraid I am not saying enough, or being too silent about issues I believe in and care about, but I also wonder if Facebook is the best place to discuss these kind of things. What if the discussions on Facebook prevent us from having in-person contact and conversations about these issues? I also recognize that frequent use Facebook can have a negative impact my emotional and mental health; I’m limiting my browsing time and what I share for my own piece of mind.

A bit about me: I identify as liberal, left of Democrat. I am pro-choice. I am a feminist. I am a white bisexual female from the Southwestern United States. I am a millennial. I am married, in a heterosexual partnership. I have a neurological condition that limits my ability to work a full-time job. I both have and lack privilege. I am concerned about what might happen with Trump as president. I am especially afraid how his administration may affect minorities. And at the same time, I don’t know what it will be like.

I’ve heard that hateful comments are coming from all sides. That some protests have turned violent. That there have been several instances where Muslim women have been attacked. This is all sad and disheartening.

I have also seen some people express the desire to understand how other people think and feel, and why they voted the way they did. I think we need more of these types of conversations. What I would ideally like to see in post-election dialogue:

For people to state their opinions without being accusatory of others’. I know it’s easy to react and respond without thinking, especially when emotions are high. Still, I would like there to be more respect. I would prefer that people say they disagree without accusing someone else of being wrong. I would like people to say they disagree with someone without attacking (whether verbally or physically) the other person and personally insulting them.

For people from both sides being willing to listen. We often surround ourselves with people who think like us. And while it’s good to have supportive communities, it’s important to understand why and how people think the way they do.

For people to distinguish feelings and opinions from facts.

For safe spaces for people to feel how they feel, and say or write what they think.

No violence, no hate speech.

While often cynical, I am an idealist at heart. I want to believe that it’s possible for people to share dialogue freely, without fear or danger.

Leave a Reply

