Winter Solstice

Before I fully acknowledged how seasons affected me, I believed I was struggling against the darkness. Between the time in November when the time changes and Winter Solstice, I tended to feel more depressed and generally had low energy. The early sunsets felt like an abrupt end to the day.

I first learned about Seasonal Affective Disorder, which validated my experiences somewhat. I later learned about more earth-based perspectives on seasonal energies, and those perspectives helped me understand the changes in my own energy throughout the seasons of the year. I now see the slowing down towards winter as a more natural occurrence. I don’t try to keep up with the outward push to shop and be social in the holiday season; I do my best take my time, take occasional outings, and be as inward as I need to be.

To me, the Winter Solstice is not only the sign that winter is here, it is also an invitation to let the light back in. The days will gradually grow longer. There will be cold, cloudy days like today where it feels like the world should be sleeping. I also see winter as an invitation to be and feel quiet and introspective, to focus more on being rather than doing.

I used to think that winter was one of my least favorite seasons; over the past few years, I’ve grown to like it more. I can pull on layers of clothing, wrap myself in blankets, or revel in my love’s embrace to stay warm. I can give myself permission to slow down. I can step out into a brisk day and feel how my senses come to attention. Admittedly, I don’t live in – or come from – a place with below-zero-degree temperatures or regular snow. That would definitely require me to adjust to winter in a whole new way. However, I believe I am more at peace with the energy of winter and how I respond to it, and I flow more with my moods instead of fighting them.

I lit a candle on my altar. Now, sitting on the couch across the room, I watch the flame flicker, casting subtle moving shadows on the wall.

Happy Solstice!

Leave a Reply

