The sanctuary of mornings

I’m a morning person in the sense that I enjoy mornings.

I used to imagine morning people as being bright, cheerful, perky, and outgoing in the mornings. In college, these were the friends or acquaintances who would greet me with a bright and sweet, “Good morning!” as though they had rays sunshine oozing out of their pores. (Now, there’s a mental image.)

I used to not consider myself a morning person because of the above idea. I later decided that I was a different kind of morning person.

I prefer to keep my morning time to myself, preferably by myself. When I lived in a communal house, I relished getting up before everyone else. I’d meditate and do yoga when the house was quiet. I’d look out the third-story window, out to the next-door neighbor’s house, down to the garden, where the soft light was hitting the plants. There was – and is – something so peaceful, almost magical, about claiming that time as my own.

I wrote the above words earlier this week and had the realization that I hadn’t been getting enough quality morning time recently. Somewhere in the transition of moving and settling in, I’ve disrupted my tendency of waking up early. During the week, I’ve been sleeping until my husband’s alarm goes off at 7:30 a.m., and then we’re both awake and have to get moving. I love being with him in the mornings before he goes to work, but I want to treasure the time before.

So I decided to make a conscious shift:  Friday, yesterday, I set my alarm to 7:00 a.m. I ended up waking up a little before then. I got up, made myself a cup of tea, and took the time to meditate and stretch. I gave myself time to savor the morning, with myself, by myself.

One response to this post.

  1. I so understand needing that “before” time in the mornings. I am a morning person, too. Sometimes I do have sunshine streaming out of my pores — more so when I was younger — but now I just relish starting my day early before anyone else in the universe is conscious (at least that’s what I like to think). Thanks for your post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

