Marching in spirit

womens-march-on-washington

I love that there are going to be women’s marches all over the country (and world!) this  Saturday, January 21. I definitely believe in the issues they are be marching for. I stand in solidarity with them.

And…I’m also choosing not to go to the one in my city. This isn’t a political decision, it’s a personal one. The probable sensory and energetic cost of going to an event like this is higher than the rewards of going. These kinds of events tend to highly-stimulating: There are many people going, it may be challenging to leave, there may be unexpected situations, noises, etc.

There is part of me that is wistful: I would like to go.

There is part of me that says I should go, should be doing more in terms of activism in general. However, a lot of this”more” includes things that may stress out my nervous system and throw me out of whack for an unknown amount of time. Yes, I am being cautious and discerning. I am also trying to be realistic and compassionate with myself.

I’m brainstorming other ways that I can help: donate a small amount to an organization I support, look for a volunteer opportunities, keep my eyes out for activities that may be more supportive. While I sign online petitions on a regular basis, I don’t know how much impact that has; I also acknowledge that it is something.

For those of you out there who are marching this Saturday, I am marching with you in spirit.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I’ll be summoning all my energy to attend a local march. Wish me luck–I suspect it may be an overload for me as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

