First year graduate school questions

Questions I am seeking insight into during OT school. Some of these may have more objective answers, while others might be more subjective. All are more ongoing questions or at least need more time and/or research.

What does it mean/look like to advocate for myself as a neurodivergent occupational therapy student? What will it be like to advocate for myself as a neurodivergent occupational therapy practitioner, and in turn advocate for others?

If I stay with my current goal of wanting to do sensory processing work with adolescents and adults, what would that look like? An independent private practice? A department within an existing practice? What does a practice that targets all ages look like?

What is the existing research on adolescents and adults and sensory processing and integration? Can activities and interventions designed for children be used or translated for an older audience, or are there other approaches to use? What assessments are most helpful for evaluating these populations?  

I may add to these as I go through the program; hopefully I will have some ideas or answers to share at some point. In the meantime, I hope to allow them just to be guiding questions.

Leave a comment